Lynmouth 01598 753349

Coast & Country Logo

2018 / 2019 Bronze David Bellamy Conservation Award For Notter Bridge Park

Notter Bridge Park received a 2018/19 Bronze David Bellamy Conservation Award.  Notter Bridge Park was also given the bronze award for 2017 / 2018 which highlights our dedication to the garden plants, environment and wildlife that surround our plant.

David Bellamy Conservation Awards are given for the work that parks have done to the protect and enhance Britain’s natural environment.

How Did The Awards Come About?

The David Bellamy Conservation Award Scheme is one of the longest running green tourism awards in the UK. David Bellamy got the idea after talking to members of the camping, caravaning and holiday home park industry. He then gave holiday parks the challenge to be part of the environmental solution and not part of the problem.
David was then invited to visit many parks, and was so amazed at the wide range of work that the most forward-thinking owners were doing for the environment that a partnership was formed between the Conservation Foundation (the environmental organisation that David co-founded to help businesses get involved in conservation) and the British Holiday & Home Parks Association to set up an award scheme.

The scheme started with a pilot programme in 1996 and the first awards were made in 1997.

How Are The Awards Judged?

All holiday parks taking part in the scheme are assessed by local wildlife experts with regards to how the parks manage their land as a haven for wildlife, how they reduce their use of energy, water and other resources, how they reduce, reuse and recycle the waste they produce, and how they support their local communities. It’s good to know where things come from and their jounrey to us, our holiday caravans and lodges are all sourced locally using local manufacturers and garden plants online for example who are local to us. 

David Bellamy then users the assessors’ reports and any relevant comments from members of the public to make his awards each year.

Three levels of excellence can be achieved: Gold, Silver and Bronze.

Find out more about the David Bellamy Conservation Award Scheme on our website here, or at the Award Scheme’s website here

If you liked this post, give it a share!